DIY Entertainment Technology

Schematics

I’ll be uploading schematics and Eagle files here as they’re finalised – the CNC didn’t play nicely with Gerber files so everything ended up being constructed on veroboard (twisting a leatherman blade in a hole seems to work well, in my case better than the traditional drill bit – but that may just be my drill bits).

Bear in mind, I’m new to almost everything I’m doing here, including Eagle designs, so the schematics are somewhat messy. I’ve tried to keep the lines fairly separate.

Fader Module – .tiff here, .sch here. – this is currently missing the connections to the MCP23017 i2c-GPIO chip and the connections to the SparkFun capacitive touch module.

Michael

Comments on: "Schematics" (4)

  1. Why do you have six voltage regulators in this module?

    • The six voltage regulators are present due to the current draw of the motors (0.8A@10V). The voltage regulators used are rated for 1.5A peak current, so it’s really just me trying to be cautious about current usage with a very limited knowledge of electrical engineering. Also, this approach has proved far cheaper than any appropriate voltage power supplies I could find that could deliver the 21A current. Any advice you can give as to good practice and such will be very much appreciated – this entire project is a learning experience for me. My previous Arduino project was turning a relay on and off using serial commands – quite a jump.

      • I think my first step would have been to wire up one of your motorized faders in a test rig, and determine how much current you’ll actually be drawing in use. I’m sure you can hit 800mA if you slam the fader home as fast as it’ll go, but you could just as easily utilize your PWM to restrict that speed (and thus, current usage) to something that is still functional for your purposes. It might have been as easy as some capacitors to handle large peak loads (if all the faders are moving at once, very quickly, for example). Experimentation is important.

        If your solution works, then it’s hard to speak ill of it, but fewer components is usually a desirable goal.

      • I am using PWM in some stages of the motor fader movement, however I’m erring very much on the side of caution as any malfunctions during assessment could cause a substantial loss of marks (as mentioned elsewhere this is a final project for a design & technology high school course). I’m unfamiliar with the appropriate use of capacitors in circuit design, hence my hesitation to rely upon experimentation. Also the voltage regulators were surprisingly well priced from element14.com.

Leave a Reply

