DIY Entertainment Technology

The original lighting console was rushed together overnight for submission and needs work before it has all the features of a standard console. Some things I’ve learned, on reflection though:

  • Capacitive buttons are terrible for this – you need the force feedback to be sure you’ve pressed the button.
  • An X86 PC was overkill to drive a theatrical console. Realistically, an AVR would have done a better job than the PC running PHP.
  • The case is far too dodgy (due to the rush to finish). And I still can’t quite get over the fact that I had to make it out of wood.
  • The connection from inputs to the PC wasn’t nearly fast enough. I think I may use MIDI rather than USB serial next time.
  • Where I should use capacitive touch, is in detecting which fader is touched (like the MA2).

So, my new plan, is a combination of aluminium panel and black matte plastic base. I’d have to 3D-model it to explain it properly. Slightly complex shape.

I need to find some good buttons too. All in all, I don’t think I can fabricate this myself – will get professional prototyping I think.

We’ll see how it goes.

Comments on: "Update on the original console" (1)

  1. here is a interesting idea for control.

    http://www.soundwidgets.com/stribe/

Leave a Reply

